Kooi Library

The Kooi Library promotes student success and lifelong learning through quality resources, responsive customer service, and effective information literacy instruction for the campus community and beyond.

Phone: (307) 675-0220

 

POLICIES

Please contact the library if you have questions or need more detailed information on any policy or service.

ADA

ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act) modified technology is available for student use. Workstation’s can be adjusted to individual need. Vision adaptive software is available.

Circulation

Library accounts are required for all circulation transactions, including inter-library loan. Cards are issued to anyone upon request or first time use. There is a $1.00 replacement fee for lost cards. This card is recognized statewide at WYLD participating libraries. Each library sets their own loan and fee restrictions.

Collection

The circulating collection includes books, regional topographical maps (Sheridan only), paper based periodicals, and audiovisual titles. The online collection includes general and topic specific full-text periodical, abridged and repackaged informational databases. Archival and historical materials related to Sheridan College and area history are housed in the Gordon Ward Special Collections Room and are available by appointment. Other collections include McNaughton’s books and Playaways (MP3 single play audio devices) covering popular fiction and non-fiction.

Interlibrary loan

The libraries provide Interlibrary loan services to NWCCD students and employees only. Items held by other WYLD libraries may be requested by the patron through WYLD. For other items, please provide library staff as much information as possible about material being requested (source, author, year, etc.). Charges must be paid by the requester. University of Wyoming and other non-NWCCD college students should contact their own colleges for interlibrary loan services.

Laptops/ Electronic Devices

The electronic items listed below are available for checkout to Sheridan College students.

If the item is lost, damaged or stolen while checked out to you, you will be responsible for the entire replacement cost:

Item	Replacement Charge	Processing Fee	Overdue Charge
Laptop	$1500.00	$15.00	$25.00
Flip Video Recorder	$120.00	$15.00	$25.00
Microphone	$200.00	$15.00	$25.00
Digital Recorder	$40.00	$15.00	$25.00
Graphing Calculator	$130.00	$15.00	$25.00
DVD player	$150.00	$15.00	$25.00

Borrowing Period/Renewals:

The electronic items listed above can be borrowed for 1 week.  You may renew the item once as long as the item is not reserved for another student. After one renewal you must return the item back to the library for a minimum of 1 day before checking it out again. 

Reservations:

You may reserve an item up to 1 week in advance by calling 307-684-0220.  If you fail to pick up the laptop by closing on the day of the reservation it will become available to other students.

Overdue Charges:

If the item is not returned by closing on the due date you will be charged a $25.00 late fee. 

Technology

A selection of audiovisual and computer technology is available in the library for student use. By state licensure computers are available for community use, if not needed by students first.