LibGuides: LGBTQ+: Databases and Archives

Where to Start

This tab features different museums, archives and databases where you can begin your research! Each database below has elements of LGBTQ research and is free to use through the library. Use the recommended search terms to start your research!

Try these search terms:

LGBTQ
Gay marriage
Same-sex marriage
gay
lesbian
bisexual or bi
transgender
homosexual
queer
asexual
romantic orientation
sexual orientation
gender identity

Museums and Archives

ACT UP - Oral History Project
The ACT UP Oral History Project is a collection of interviews with surviving members of the AIDS Coalition to Unleash Power, New York. Interactive Resource.
AIDS History Project
The AIDS History Project holds the papers of some of the UCSF faculty members who were pioneers in AIDS research, patient care, and public health policy
GLBT Historical Society
The GLBT Historical Society collects, preserves, exhibits and makes accessible to the public materials and knowledge to support and promote understanding of LGBTQ history, culture and arts in all their diversity.
June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
The June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives is the largest major archive on the West Coast dedicated to preserving and promoting lesbian and feminist history and culture.
Museum of Trans History and Art
The mission of MOTHA is to ask audiences to think critically about what a visual history of transgender life could and should look like, and if it’s even possible to compile a comprehensive history of an identity category for which the language is fairly new, sometimes contested, and still rapidly evolving.
Stonewall National Museum and Archive
The Stonewall National Museum and Archives (SNMA) is one of the largest gay archives and libraries in the United States, now almost 50 years old. However, we have no direct link to the Stonewall Riots in New York in 1969.
Digital Transgender Archive
The purpose of the Digital Transgender Archive (DTA) is to increase the accessibility of transgender history by providing an online hub for digitized historical materials, born-digital materials, and information on archival holdings throughout the world.

Databases

Art (The) (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ARTStor This link opens in a new window
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Art, Design and Architecture Collection This link opens in a new window
Diversity Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Congress.gov This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Political Science This link opens in a new window
U.S. History (Gale In Context) This link opens in a new window
WorldCat (OCLC First Search) This link opens in a new window

NWCCD Libraries

LGBTQ+: Databases and Archives

Sheridan Summon General Search Box

Where to Start

This tab features different museums, archives and databases where you can begin your research! Each database below has elements of LGBTQ research and is free to use through the library. Use the recommended search terms to start your research!

Try these search terms:

LGBTQ

Gay marriage

Same-sex marriage

gay

lesbian

bisexual or bi

transgender

homosexual

queer

Museums and Archives

Databases