Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Need help with your research? Having trouble finding the right articles? Not sure where to start? Did you find an article, but now can't figure out how to access it or have you come up against a paywall?
Just ASC! Librarians are happy to help.
These databases present many of the most popular contemporary issues, provide opposing viewpoints and context. Great place to start if you have not arrived at a topic.
Issues & Controversies
A good general reference source with Top News stories 1940 - current, Issues and Controversies with in-depth investigation of current issues, Today's Science, and the World Almanac. This database offers more 200,000 full-text articles.
Opposing Viewpoints(Gale In Context)
A one-stop source for information on today's most important social issues.
Global Issues (Gale In Context)
International viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events in a rich, multimedia environment.
Analysis and opinions cover the pros, cons, and everything in between of 360+ social, scientific, health, historic, economic, and political issues.
Encyclopedic reference sources, good for delving into more context and background, or for browsing topics.
Credo Reference: Academic Core
This collection includes subject encyclopedias, handbooks, guides, companions and readers covering over 80 major subject disciplines and more than 6 million research concepts with videos, visual aids, images, photographs and maps.
The standard in general encyclopedias with articles, audio, video, and more.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale Ebooks)
Multifaceted reference source including encyclopedias, almanacs and specialized reference sources
Oxford Reference Online: Premium
Integrated and consistent information across the full subject spectrum - general reference, language and quotations, science and medicine, humanities and social sciences, and business and professional. It also includes English/French, English/German, English/Spanish, English/Italian bilingual dictionaries. Plus in-depth articles from the acclaimed Oxford Companions series.
Biography (Gale In Context)
Contextual information on the world's most influential people.
Search thousands of academic journals, narrowing parameters to focus on detailed aspects of your research project. Once you have a topic and some idea of your thesis, use these to get into greater detail.
Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary database supporting scholarly research as well as general interest.
Academic OneFile (Gale)
Millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and the social sciences.
The largest collection of full text articles available to libraries. ProQuest covers more than 150 subject areas and has full text coverage of the Wall Street Journal and L.A. Times.